Masters, Open in their eyes

Curtis Luck
Curtis Luck after winning the 2016 Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship in South Korea.

The Australian contingent for the Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship has been confirmed to play at Royal Wellington in October.

Based on world amateur rankings at the cut-off date, Harrison Endycott (17), Travis Smyth (28), Dylan Perry (41), Min Woo Lee (44), Shae Wools-Cobb (73) and Charlie Dann (82) will fight the region’s best players for a shot at invaluable entries to the 2018 Masters and Open Championship.

All six Australian players, national coaches Dean Kinney and Tony Meyer and Golf Australia’s sports science co-ordinator Luke Mackey will attend a joint prep camp with their Golf New Zealand counterparts from 9-11 September.

The camp will give the Australians a chance to plot out the picturesque Royal Wellington and familiarise themselves with the logistics of the New Zealand capital.

All six Australian players have been playing in Britain and North America for much of the past two months, showing good form in the world’s leading amateur events.

They’re all desperate to repeat the success of good mate Curtis Luck, who stormed to the title last year after also saluting at the US Amateur.

The winner of the Asia-Pacific’s most prestigious amateur title earns automatic starts at Augusta National and Carnoustie in 2018, with the runner(s)-up being exempt into an Open Qualifying Series event to try to make The Open field.

09 April 2018
06 April 2018
04 April 2018
03 December 2017
Queensland Golf